The Ratification of the Conventions of nine States, shall be sufficient for the Establishment of this Constitution between the States so ratifying the Same.

The original U.S. Constitution was unanimously approved by the Constitutional Convention of the several States present on the 17th day of September, 1787.

The witnesses and signers of the constitution, representing the 13 states, were:

Go Washington (Virginia); John Langdon and Nicholas Gilman (New Hampshire); Nathaniel Gorham and Rufus King (Massachusetts); Wm Saml Johnson and Roger Sherman (Connecticut); Alexander Hamilton, (New York); Wil Livingston, David Brearley, Wm Paterson, and Jona. Dayton (New Jersey);- B Franklin, Thomas Mifflin, Robt Morris, Geo. Clymer, Thos FitzSimons, Jared Ingersoll, James Wilson, and Gouv Morris(Pennsylvania); Geo. Read, Gunning Bedford jun, John Dickinson, Richard Bassett, Jaco. Broom (Delaware); James McHenry, Dan of St Tho Jenifer, and Danl Carroll (Maryland); John Blair,and James Madison Jr. (Virginia); Wm Blount, Richd Dobbs Spaight, and Hu Williamson (North Carolina); J. Rutledge, Charles Cotesworth Pinckney, Charles Pinckney, and Pierce Butler (South Carolina); and William Few and Abr Baldwin (Georgia).

Home | US Constitution | Federal Law | Lawmakers | Front & Center | Lawbreakers | Courts | Montana Constitution | Contact Us
Comments & Suggestions

Please read our Disclaimer Notice regarding the use of this site
Developed and Produced by
BigforkWEB Development